Skip to main content

Campus Updates: March 12 – 18

Broadway Elementary
The following students received a Principal High Five award at Broadway Elementary: Luu-ly Ha, Mason Laughbaum, Piper Holdt, Sebastin Araoz, Chris Thomas, Tatum To-ong, Logan Sewart, Sophia Georgas, John Harden, Latauris Towner, Karenza Gray, Andrew Seager, Lou Vollaro, Alyssa Dawson, Addison Fails, Liam Sutter, Nadia Varghese, Sarah Beskoon, Colin Lapinskie, Gabriel Benavides, Emma Jakum, Mackenzie Currie, Ellison Warsham, Avery Cribbs, Jack Thompson, Cole Cunningham, Frankie Essig, Amos Perez, Christoper Moreno, Hunter Bruschke, Cayden Carnes, Kiatlyn Kong, Aylannies Bertram, Samantha Shurtliff, Maddie Jones, Karenza Gray, Julia Flessas, Victoria Bryan, Andrew Seager, Jared Gonzalez, Gracie Weidman, Wilhem Reichmeider, Sophia Rohling, Adam Hyath, Erik Reichmeider, Lilas Elnahas, Kennedy Shakelford, Sydnie Hand, Zak Fedak, Parker Grabowski, Jaden Jaramillo, and Vivian Ruiz.


Buckalew Elementary
Each week students have the opportunity to be nominated as a “Student of the Week” when they demonstrate any of the 7 Keys to Success we teach at Buckalew.  Students nominated receive a special certificate to take home and they are then entered into a weekly drawing.  The winners are on the announcements and are presented a “Principal’s Medallion.”  One student per grade level is drawn weekly. Congratulations to the following students: Kailtyn Kaufman, for working well in groups and with others; Benny Brown, for helping a new student; Andie George, for putting first things first; Yasmin Mathews, for seeking to understand and being a friend to everyone; and Mackenzie Stumph, for being a very, hard worker.


Bush Elementary
Have a safe and restful Spring Break!


Collins Intermediate
Thank you to the Ark Church for providing breakfast and coffee for our staff on February 28.


Congratulations to the following students whose art has been chosen to represent Collins in our local Youth Art Month Student Exhibit to be held at the South County Public Library, 2101 Lake Robbins Drive in The Woodlands from March 2 – March 30. The pieces are Faith Stein’s “Old Pecan Tree,” Hallie Ildebrando’s “Favorite Watering Hole,” Jean Marie Park’s “Moonlight,” and Grace Courtney’s “Smiley.”


Congratulations to eight fifth grade students whose art was chosen to represent Collins in the Texas Elementary Art Meet, a statewide art competition to be held in Bryan, Texas. The pieces are Katie Collins’ “Sunset Ride,” Hana Jeong’s “Butterfly Haven,” Amanda Peterson’s “Nature’s Wonderland,” Casey Podolski’s “Cockodoodle Doo,” Kayley Radford’s “Seven T Ranch, Texas,” Braylin Richard’s “Koi Motion,” Campbell Withrow’s “Uncle Terry’s Farm,” and Irina Zeleneva’s “Wide Open Spaces, Big Bend.”


Congratulations to our seven Fantastic Teams that participated in regional tournament on February 18. We have two teams competing at the DI State Competition April 7 – 9 in Lubbock, Look Me in DI and Destination Disappearance. Best of luck to both teams!


Creighton Elementary
March 13-17 is Spring Break for students and staff.


Congratulations to the students who participated in Destination Imagination and the excellent job at competition: Cory Barr, Rylee Peroni, Megan Schreck, Xiomara Tabasco, Hannah Javadian, Kathryn Kaminski, Alexis Kull-Johnson, Emma Mitchell, Aleigh Ritter, Donovan Williams, Lillian Dabbs, Christy Hasly, Makayla Herbert, Trenton Hollon, Hayden Murdock, Rayden Peroni, Cierra Ramirez, Kain Rape, and Colby Roberts. Way to go Cubs!



David Elementary

David had nine Destination Imagination teams that participated in the Destination Imagination Southeast Regional Tournament. The teams did an outstanding job of representing David. Three teams were recognized during the Destination Imagination Tournament Award Ceremony. DI of the Tiger, a third grade team, placed second in the Project Outreach Challenge and received a DaVinci Award. The Uncolored, a fourth grade team, placed second in the Fine Arts Challenge. The Smileys placed fourth in the Technical Challenge and received a Spirit of DI Award. We are so proud of the hard work and creativity of all our Destination Imagination Teams!



Hailey Elementary
Attendance counts for every child every day. Congratulations to Mrs. Doan’s class for achieving 10 Attendance Rockets for the whole class being on time and staying at school all day!


All CISD schools will be closed March 13-17 for spring break. Classes resume Monday, March 20. We wish all our students and families a safe and restful spring break.


Students can bring aluminum cans, foil, pans, and aluminum computer parts for recycling every Friday morning for our Cash for Cans program, which helps support our school. Please deliver recyclables to the front porch when arriving at school.



Houser Elementary
Enjoy your Spring Break! We will see everyone back at school on Monday, March 20!



Kaufman Elementary
The school will be closed March 13 through March 17 for Spring Break.



Oak Ridge High School

The Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA) Future Health Professionals Bowl Team advanced to the state competition after placing third in the regional competition. The team members are seniors Debora Oviedo, Justyn Pitcher, Rachel Williams, and junior Kylee Vear. The team was coached by Health Science teachers Dr. Randall Halbert and Lauren McGregor.


The Cheerleading team placed First in the National High School Cheerleading Championship held in Orlando, FL. Hosted by the Universal Cheerleaders Association, the event is the considered the most prestigious high school cheerleading competition in the United States. Coached by Sarah Parker and Steven Weibel, the team competed in the Performance division and made it to semi-finals placing in a division of 38 teams. In the Game Day division, the team placed first in the nation besting 24 teams, two of whom were state title holders. Team members are: Ashley Grewenig, Maddy Gubser, Grace Blatney, Amanda Wynn, Jacey Gartner, Nicole Alebesun, Hannah Anderson, Bri Stunda, Amaya Bolanos, Brooke Hertzenberg, Abbey Rowe, Shelby Henry, Sami Havemann, Madi Prince, Da’on Acosta, Brittani Harvey, Jamie Derringer, Charlie Uber, Tori Green, Kameryn Granados, Emily Noles, Cheyanne Parker, Destiny Clark, Kimberley Knight, Ally Alvarado, Bailey Moss, Katie Luksa, Laurel Loftin, La’Nisha Taylor, and Skyler Carrell.


Eight teams from Oak Ridge competed in the annual Education for Tomorrow Alliance SCI://TECH Exposition. Students were tasked with solving a problem that required performing gel electrophoresis to separate DNA and run DNA samples. Two members of the Biotech Team won first place for Technical Excellence.


The Operation Graduation Talent Show held on Thursday, February 23 was a great success. Eighteen talented acts participated in the show which spotlighted the talent of our Oak Ridge War Eagles. First place winner was Sandra Barker, she played and sang an original song she wrote for her mother “Letting Go”; second place winner was Rebecca Ciribelli, she sang and played guitar “When I was your Man” originally by Bruno Mars; and third place winner was Kaylee Casey, she sang Hallelujah originally by Lenard Cohen. Thank you to all of our talented students who participated in this event and congratulations to our three winners.



Rice Elementary
Rice Way Pep Rallies will be held on Friday, March 24.


Wednesday, March 29 spring pictures will be taken at Rice.


Our Pre-Kindergarten Fair will be held on Saturday, April 1 from 9 a.m.-12 p.m.