Skip to main content

CISD Board of Trustees Recognizes 2018 All-State Musicians

A group of students stands at the front of a board room.
Trustee Scott Moore congratulates the TMEA All-State students on their achievement.

At their regularly scheduled February meeting, the Conroe Independent School District Board of Trustees gave special recognition to the 32 students from Conroe High School, Oak Ridge High School, The Woodlands College Park High School, and The Woodlands High School named 2018 Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) All-State musicians.

The TMEA Texas All-State competition is a competitive process that begins throughout the state in auditions hosted by 33 TMEA Regions. Individual musicians perform selected music for a panel of judges who rank each instrument or voice part. From this ranking, a select group of musicians advances from their Region to compete against musicians from other areas in eight TMEA Area competitions. The highest-ranking musicians judged at the TMEA Area competitions qualify to perform in a TMEA All-State music group. These All-State students participate in three days of rehearsals directed by nationally-recognized conductors during the TMEA Clinic/Convention. Their performances for thousands of attendees bring this extraordinary event to a close.

Over 1,600 students are selected through a process that begins with over 72,000 students from around the state vying for this honor to perform in one of 15 ensembles (bands, orchestras, and choirs). Less than 3% of musicians who initially audition become All-State musicians, and 32 of these students are from Conroe ISD.

Conroe ISD All-State musicians are:

  • Orchestra – Chris Chan
  • Band – Ben Bowman, Timothy Brantley, Brandon Foskett, Kyle Hansen, Nathan Keene, Katie Kirkpatrick, Gracie Lime, Amrutha Murthy, Nathan Stanfield, Travis Stromberg, Brandon Wiley, and Connor Zuspan
  • Choir – Aidan Adcock, Kendall Banasiak, Jacob Burns, Adithya Chunangad, Derrick Eugenio, Susan Falconer, Zachary Fishman, Riley Glaesmann, Elise Incavo, Varsha Iyer, Maya Krishnan, Magnus Kroken, Aranza Perret, Shelby Steele, Katie Stobbe, Kayla Swan, Raymond Thompson, Ryan Walsh, and Kyler West

Dr. Robert Horton, Coordinator of Fine Arts, introduced these outstanding musicians and their instructors. Trustee Scott Moore presented each student with an award on behalf of the Board.