Skip to main content

Eighth Group of STAR Students Complete Program

A group of 14 high school students stand in front of a congrats poster in a conference room.
Some of the graduates of the STAR Program gather before the CISD Board of Trustees Meeting on Tuesday night.

At their May meeting, the Conroe Independent School District Board of Trustees recognized graduating seniors who participated in the Students Together Achieving Results (STAR) Program. This is the eighth group of students to graduate from and be honored for their hard work, persistence, and commitment to the STAR Program.

Each year, high school counselors are asked to identify ninth grade students who struggled during their freshman year and invite them to participate in the program. STAR is focused on building strong relationships between counselors and the STAR students. As part of the year-round program, the students are exposed to opportunities where they learn about themselves and how to plan for their future. They hold monthly meetings as well as make visits to community colleges, technical schools, and four-year colleges. Students may also visit job sites, complete community service, hear motivational speakers, and participate in the ropes course.

Graduates from the STAR program include: Meaghan Botelho, Jared Brantner, Gabriela Cervantes, Colten Lang, Sergio Martinez-Torres, Cynthia Ramirez, Blanca Roberto, Colton Patrick Smith, Brittany Spielman, Ruby Telles, and Jerry Vasquez from Caney Creek High School;
Katelyn Dickerson, Molly Linton, JoVaughn Martin, and Adrian Perez from Conroe High School; Aaron Amador, Mercedes Calhoun, Adriana Diaz, Victoria Fenley, Gabriella Garza, Jordan Hill, Ty Jones, Dylan Patrick, Dulce Reyna, Diana Solorzano, Cameron Waller, Makayla Warner, Megan Weatherly, and Valerie Weathers from Hauke High School; Alexandria Alvarado, Chad Archie, Jack Boyko, Daniela Hernandez, and Kychelle Pope from Oak Ridge High School; Yasmin Abarca from The Woodlands College Park High School; and Allison Buonanno, Natasha Dennings, Christian Gutierrez, Rylie Knudsen, Alexandra Matos, Jackson Morton, Daniela Omokwole, Jessica Pinto, and Crystal Solis from The Woodlands High School.

Three of the graduating seniors, Katelyn Dickerson, Allison Buonanno, and Brittany Spielman, shared about their experiences with the Trustees.

Denise Cipolla, Coordinator of Guidance and Counseling, introduced the counselors who work with the students and presented the students to the Board. Trustee Datren Williams presented each student with a certificate in recognition of their achievement.