Skip to main content

Students Awarded at Annual Science Fair

Science FairOver 1,200 junior high and high school students from across Conroe ISD participated in science fairs as part of the Education for Tomorrow Alliance’s (EfTA) SCI://TECH event series. Junior high science fairs were held at the campuses, while high school students presented their projects at the Lone Star Convention Center on Thursday, January 27.

For this event, seventh through twelfth grade students submitted research projects in one of the life science, physical science, or engineering categories. Volunteer judges then ranked the students on their research and presentation skills.

Each year, approximately one quarter of the students who participate in the Science and Engineering Fair of Houston qualify through their participation in the science fair held during SCI://TECH. Conroe ISD is proud to send 300 junior high and high school students to compete in the Science Engineering Fair of Houston on February 25 – 26.

Student winners are as follows:

Ninth Grade Division
Animal Science – Lily Woolf
Behavioral/Social – Nancy Dong and Sarah Kath
Biochem/Micro – Shreyas Reddy
Chemistry Sandul Manage
Earth & Environmental – Victoria Ou
Energy & Trans – Henry Aceves
Eng: Aerospace – Rebecca Garza
Eng: Biomedical – Donovan Burke
Eng: Chemical & Materials – Ethan Schipper
Eng: Embedded Systems – Rohit Pillutla
Eng: Environmental – Matthew Yu
Eng: Mechanics – Jessica Bird
Eng: Robotics & Intelligent Machines – Umar Akhtar and Leighton Pinchback
Mathematics – Gentry Matthew
Medicine & Health – Alyson Miller
Physics & Astronomy – Jesse Miller
Plant Science – James Gerhard
Systems Software – Grace Yuan, Ruihan Ma, and Dawson Zhang

Senior High Division
Animal Science – Rotem Ris and Zaina Siddiqi
Behavioral/Social – Pranav Somani
Biochem/Micro – Patrick McKenna
Chemistry – Shivani Mundra and Madelyn Puza
Earth and Environmental – Zoe Yu
Energy & Transportation – Sanjiv Anand
Eng: Aerospace – Felipe Aceves and Mahi Patel
Eng: Biomedical – Catherine Li
Eng: Chemical & Materials – Sohi Patel
Eng: Embedded Systems – Rohan Mehta, Roshan Mehta, and Shreyas Vatts
Eng: Environmental – Connor Deng
Eng: Mechanics – Gabriella Behne
Mathematics – Sanuja Manage
Medicine & Health – Anikait Banerjee and Jessica Svetlitski
Physics & Astronomy – Alejandro Flores
Plant Science – Katie Yan
Robotics & Intelligent Machines – Vali Khan
Systems Software – Yuto Yamada

Grand Awards
Ninth Grade
Life Science – James Gerhard
Physical Science – Henry Aceves
Engineering – Jessica Bird

Senior Division
Life Science – Rotem Ris and Zaina Siddiqi
Physical Science – Sanuja Manage
Engineering – Rohan Mehta, Roshan Mehta, and Shreyas Vatts

“Conroe ISD students continue to excel in Science Fair because of the hard work of the students, support of their parents, and commitment of their teachers in providing an investigative approach to teaching science,” commented Conroe ISD Coordinator of Science Sheryl Hime.

This year’s awards ceremony was held on Saturday, February 5, at Lone Star College – Montgomery. Congressman Kevin Brady and Conroe ISD Superintendent Dr. Curtis Null addressed the winners. Last year’s recipient of the Dr. Don Stockton Educator Award of Excellence was also recognized. The award, named in honor of former Conroe ISD Superintendent Dr. Don Stockton for his support of the EfTA and STEM programs, was presented to Conroe ISD District Secondary Science Instructional Coach Sophia Hebert for her dedication in fostering the love of science in students and helping make Sci:\\Tech events such a success.

Additional information about the Science Engineering Fair can be found at For information about Sci://Tech, please visit